North and South Pole explorer Doug Stroup was inducted to the Hall in 2005

Nominations to the 2024 Class of the California Outdoors Hall of Fame (Hall) are now open through November 30.

The Hall honors persons who have inspired thousands of Californians to take part in the great outdoors and/or conservation and who have taken part in outdoor adventures of paramount impact.

2023 inductees included big wave surfer Bianca Valenti, kokanee salmon advocate and tournament angler Gary Coe, stillwater fishing guide Jay Fair and cycling safety advocate and innovator Alan Kalin. Previous inductees have included such renowned outdoorsmen and women as John Muir, Galen Rowell, Ansel Adams, John Reginato, Jedediah Smith, Jack O’Neill, Yvonne Chouinard, Nic Fiore, Jackie Douglas, Hans Florine, Paul Bonderson, Jr, and Alex Honnold. Numerous outdoor writers have also been honored by induction, including several past and present OWAC members.

Anyone can nominate a candidate for the Hall, including the candidate themself. To submit a nomination, visit Nominations must be received not later than Nov. 30. The Induction Ceremony occurs annually at the International Sportsmens Exposition in Sacramento. The coming ceremony will occur during the OWAC Annual Meeting on Jan. 20 at 1 p.m.

Contact OWAC members Tom Stienstra, John Poimiroo or Bob Semerau for more information about nominating an outdoorsman or woman for this high honor.

Share this story
Picture of John Poimiroo

John Poimiroo

Editor of Member of OWAC Board of Directors.


Follow us on
Follow us on

2023 Excellence in Craft Awards

EIC 2023

2023 Student Awards

Students 2023

Not yet a member?

Read about membership benefits.
Learn how we work together to educate and encourage people to enjoy the outdoors.

Subscribe to OWAC Outdoors

OWAC's bi-monthly newsletter

Members Only

Submit a Post.

OWAC Facebook Feed

Scroll to Top

Subscribe to our bi-monthly newsletter for the latest outdoor news. 

Write to us